The Phatom of the Opera

London is a city full of musicals. So, when I visited London, I had to grab the opportunity to watch a musical. After some recommendation from friends, I decided to watch the famous musical ‘The Phantom of the Opera’.  It is the longest running Broadway show and is very lucrative as many people still want to watch it.

‘The Phantom of the Opera’ is based on the novel by French writer Gaston Leroux. However, it is most well-known as a musical which is adapted by Andrew Lloyd Webber. The set and costumes were amazing. The actors were also very good and they managed to engage the audience. It has a very interesting storyline and the love that the Phantom had for Christine is so strong and overwhelming that it will move you and may seem scary and possesive at times. Overall, I think that it is worth it to watch this musical as it is really very good.

Recently, a sequel to ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ titled ‘Love Never Dies’ has been released. I have yet to watch it and hope to watch it soon as I believe it will be a splendid production.

Bye (:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christininberlin
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 18:23:28

    The phantom of the opera is my favourite musical too. For those who would like to see it but don’t want to leave the house I can strongly recommend the DVD phantom of the opera with Gerard Butler and Emmy Rossum. They are both doing a great job and you can watch it as often as you want.

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 21:57:44

    aw I love Phantom!! I saw it like 2 or 3 year ago and loved it! Do they still play it at the Her Majesy’s? I really liked that theatre even though it was a little bit confusing to find the seats 😉
    Do you remember who you saw of the cast? Maybe the main characters like the Phantom, Christine and Raoul? I own I think like two cd’s, on in German and the other one is the English-version with gorgeous Steve Barton as Raoul. If you wanna hear them just tell me =)
    I’ve just seen a few videos from the rehearsal of Love Never Dies and one video from the premiere I think. Looks and sounds very good, well of course it does, Sir Webber was involved ;D
    Did you saw any other show??
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

    • joycetansiyi
      Jun 24, 2010 @ 12:19:09

      Yes, it was held at Her Majesty’s Theatre. Although it’s a very old theatre, I feel that the atmosphere suits the play.
      I have the soundtrack with all the songs too. Think I will watch Love Never Dies if I have the chance.
      I also watched Wicked and Les Meserables. Both were great too! (:

      Reply

Leave a Reply

